Winter Hideout Visit

I wanted to go out to the property to see how much snow there was out there this time of year. But because they don’t plow the roads out there in the winter, and because I don’t have a snowmobile, I had to snow shoe in. Which I estimate is about a 1.5 mile walk. So I pushed the Toyota in there as far as I could, and started walking.

I’ve never used snow shoes before, so it was quite an adventure, I was told in advance to expect to go face first into the snow a few times, which I only did once.

My Feet
image

One of the first things I saw was some elk. It felt like I hadn’t seen one in years. Saw some big ole turkeys too.
image

The Meadow
image

Camp
image

Meadow Creek
image

Our Sign
image

Leaving the property

image

Finally, back at my pickup, first time on snow shoes was a success
image

The only think I was a little disappointed with was that I didn’t get to look around the property more, but I was so exhausted from using those shoes that I needed to get back as soon as I could before I got too tired.

-sg

Categories: Hiking/Camping | Tags: , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Winter Hideout Visit

  1. We rented snowshoes here and I immediately headed up a backcountry trail, torturing our skills from the first climb on the slopy-benchcut trail. By the middle, my wife took the shoes off and semi-trusted her boots. good thing we had 2 poles each! Enjoy!

  2. Pingback: Happy Goundhog Day! « idahodianeaglesfan

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

