Farewell Big Red

On Black Monday (the day all the NFL coaches get fired) the Eagles bid farewell to Andy Reid AKA Big Red, The longest active tenured Coach in the NFL, he had been with the Eagles the previous 14 years, however after a 4-12 season, it was time for a change.

It was fairly bittersweet for me, as Reid is the only coach I’ve known since I’ve been an Eagles fan. I’ve had the opportunity to watch him coach on two occasions, both in Seattle. I don’t know if any of you know how big Reid is, but he is even bigger in person. I was about 10 feet from him at one point, and he is easily 2-2 1/2 of me.

Anyhow, Farewell Reid, I’m sure you won’t be out of coaching long, as it is currently being reported you will be the next head coach of the Chiefs.

Here are my top 5 Eagle Moments under Reid:

5. 4th and 26.

4. Eagles beat Cowboys 44-6 (Romo chokes again).

3. Onside kick to start the 2000 Season vs. Cowboys “Pickle Juice Game”

2. Eagles beat Falcons to go to the Super Bowl

1. Miracle at the Meadow lands 2010

 

I honestly hope the Eagles go defensive with the next coach, but we shall see. It appears as if they are really high on Oregon’s Chip Kelly and are set to interview him this weekend. We shall see where it goes.

-sg

 

Categories: Eagle-ness | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Farewell Big Red

  1. I didn’t think Philadelphia would ever do it. IMHO I think they should have gotten rid of him after Donovan went to the RedSkins. With another team and management he’ll probably go to the super bowl and win. But the Eagles need to re-invent themselves completely from the ground up.

    I agree they need to build a great defensive team. A great defense with a middle of the road offense will win you the SuperBowl.

    Mind you, if Philadelphia ever wins the SuperBowl, I’m staying inside that entire week. This city will riot.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

