Grandad Bridge Trip.

My future Father-in-law invited me to go on an overnight fishing trip with him this past weekend (I know I’m a bit late). Grandad bridge is about 40 miles (give or take) from Dworshack dam. We left last friday for the trip and man, did it take for.ev.er to get there, but it was worth it.

After the 3 hour drive from Potlatch to the bridge, Chuck and I set up camp. I had assumed we would be ruffing it, since the nearest civilation is about 1.5-2 hours away in any direction. However, there is a primitive campground right at the boat launch. When I say primitive, I mean they had bathrooms, but didn’t have running water, or any other modern day “neccesities.”

I was very surprised how much camping gear Chuck has. Stuff that I want, so so bad. he has the perfect camp stove, complete with gridle. And had my camera not crapped out halfway through day one, I would have a ton of pictures, but unfortunetly, I have none.

The first day of fishing was ok. Great for me (If fish was the only meat available and I had to catch it, I would have been a vegitarian years ago…Yes, I’m a terrible fisherman.) Chuck however was not pleased with the results of the first day: 17 Kokanee. Although good sized, he was hoping for the both of us to catch our limit.

After about 10-12 hours on the boat in the blistering sun, I decided to take a swim by camp. and boy, did I forget how much I love to swim. I’m embaressed to say I haven’t gone for a swim in probably 1.5-2 years. Sad, I know.

That night we sat by the fire, BS’d, drank whiskey, and went to bed.

Sidenote; I slept in my hammock for the second straight camping trip. And, I’m not sure I ever want to sleep in a tent again. Regardless of the summer weather.

on Day 2, we fished for a couple hours, only caught 8 fish, making it an even 25 for the trip. I was happy with the haul, Chuck wasn’t as pleased. but we both agreed that we need to do it again next year, only go a few weeks eariler, and make it a long stay.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

