Our little ones…Part 1

Something I haven’t blogged about in my short time on here is my two beloved dogs. B.Maree and I have had 2 lovely (85% of the time) little Min Pins for a few years now, one black (Maclin) and one red/or chocolate (Axel).

3 years ago, Britt and I decided we needed a dog, so we started looking. At first I wanted, no, I NEEDED a Jack Russell Terrier, it was the only dog I was going to settle, even after reading how anxious and hard to train they could be. Luckily, Britt and some AKC representatives talked me out of it (thank god in hindsight). So we started looking for other small dogs.

One night while working on ICU, I was looking through the classifieds in the paper and spotted a small add with no pictures. The ad said something about AKC registered Miniature Pinscher puppies. To be honest, I’d never heard of the little things before. Never. So, like any internet user I googled it. And Boy, since I hit that search button, I have loved ’em ever since. So obviously I called the number that night while on my lunch and set up a time to meet the sellers the next day.

I remember talking to Britt that night about our prospective pet. I remember Britt trying to tell me to not get my hopes up, that it might not be the right dog, etc, etc.

The next day, an hour before our meeting, we went to Walmart and bought everything we would need for a dog. Leashes, collars, beds, food, bowls, treats, toys, and then some. Then we went and met the owners, and they brought out the smallest little puppy, and as soon as Britt held him, it was over, he was coming home with us and Maclin did.

He has been Britt’s “sweet boy” ever since. He does have some anxiety issues, but we obviously still love him (sometimes he’s so bad, we both don’t know why). I worked really hard with him in the beginning so he would learn some cool tricks. He knows how to sit, lay, roll-over, play dead, jump on cue, just doesn’t know how to not run off!

He has grown on us, and we spoil him like a child. Maclin is set to turn 3 this July (that’s 28 in dog years). His first Birthday (yes we celebrate our dogs birthday’s) we ordered him food from Applebees. and his second Birthday we got him a dog house.

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

